Monthly Archives: March 2015

Le Cinque Terre

The Cinque Terre area is a rugged portion of coast on the Italian Riviera (located in the Liguria region, to the west of the city of La Spezia). “The Five Lands” comprises five villages: Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza and Monterosso al Mare. The coastline, the five villages and the surrounding hillsides are all part of the Cinque Terre National Park and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Over the centuries, people have carefully built terraces on the rugged, steep landscape right up to the cliffs that overlook the sea. Part of its charm is the lack of visible corporate development. Paths, trains and boats connect the villages, and cars cannot reach them from the outside. The Cinque Terre area is a very popular tourist destination.

Here are few photos I took over time.